Magistrates Court

Estimated reading: 1 minute 153 views

The Magistrates Court is the first level of the Court system and deals with most legal disputes in Victoria.

It has seven divisions:

  • The Industrial Division (employee disputes)
  • Neighbourhood Justice
  • Drug Court
  • Koori Court
  • Family Violence Court
  • Municipal Electoral Tribunal
  • Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal

It has original jurisdiction over:

  • Fines
  • Less serious criminal offences (summary offences), such as: traffic offences, property damage, common assault or offensive behaviour
  • Burglary and theft (if the accused agrees)
  • Determining if there is enough evidence in a serious criminal offence that the accused need to stand trial (committal proceedings)
  • Civil matters with claims under $100,000
  • Intervention orders
  • Family violence matters (for most issues)

For more information:

Share this Doc

Magistrates Court

Or copy link